The Catch Up

The Catch Up

So, it feels the same now as it did in the beginning

 

…which is to say,

it doesn’t really feel

like anything at all;

 

and when the feelings

from the past

catch up to the present,

does that mean the battle’s over…?

…Who won?

 

The stages of our lives are out-of-order;

our futures are being written in,

not the end, but the middle,

and I don’t know

how much weight

this ship can carry

 

…How do I make my way to you

without us sinking,

drowning

in a sea of listlessness –

anxiety, anger, fear, depression –

 

and all because I reached for you,

or because you reached for me,

and at the same time?

 

Well, in my mind,

it sounds like we stay dry better

on opposite sides of this line.

 

And when feelings from the past catch up to the present

does that mean the battle’s over…?

…Who won?

 

Because I know this,

that I’ve felt like this,

once or twice or thrice before –

 

don’t mistake me;

it’s the acceptance and strength I’m referring to;

not this heartache.

The stages of our lives are out-of-order;

our futures are being written in,

not the end, but the middle,

 

We like to say that

we don’t know why

we feel so restless, but

you know as well as I do

that with this confusion,

we’re each other’s muse.

 

We like to say that

we don’t know why we feel so restless, but

that’s not the truth.

 

Instead, we,

say the truth silently in our minds,

afraid

to make it real

and irreversible, and

because maybe we’re still in love,

just a little bit.

 

© Marie Meyers, 2016

 

~Heart Sessions, Spoken Word 2016

Have something you want to say?

