Letting Go of Feelings

There was a second in time where I thought the hardship was love

The feeling like I’m struggling for air was a second skin and a prelude

to every time
that we made love.

…arguing,
over nothing
and yet everything;

a button’s pressed,
the fragile love we’ve built,
we’ve shattered it.

be it with your harsh words,
droplets of spit hitting my cheek,
or my hands,
wrapping around your neck,
strangling the struggling sounds of your protests,
until I remember the feel of you in my hands and…

…by then we know it’s much too late but we,
still lie down next to one another and make love,
clinging to the white pickett fence fantasy
and promising that this moment was only once.

Every time,
we do this. 

And we know it’s much too late
but we,
still lie down
next to one another and make love,
clinging to the white pickett fence fantasy
and promising that this moment was the last one.

And late in the night when it’s over,
when I feel those shudders
and tears move through you,
I
wonder why I don’t hold you.

copyright Marie Meyers, 2016

Have something you want to say?

