I’ll Call Your Name (Draft One)

(Even if I drown,
I’ll call your name. )

What to do, now?
I’m in too deep,
way in over my head.
Should I pull out now,
before this rip tide swallows me?

With every rushing wave I plummet
further and further below the surface
And the visage of the dock and pier are getting farther and farther away.

But I hear your voice,
above the water,
searching for me,
so even if I drown instead,
I’ll flail my arms and scream your name,
just hurry now and embrace me,
before this water
seals my fate,
when you’re this close,
isn’t okay, if I give my faith
in you and believe that our love is real,
and that you will save me?

I know that the future isn’t certain,
and that one day we both shall die,
and be without one another for a little while,
but I want to believe that in our second life, we will fall in love again,
is that too foolish?

You, who took my colorless lifestyle,
and made me chase with you, the end of a rainbow.

You’ve breathed life my lungs,
and gave my stagnant beating heart a fast paced rhythm.

I was afraid to love,
afraid to get hurt and break,
but Love doesn’t hold the future prisoner to the past,

so I will not anchor you to me
by these chains, I’ll break free from them
and let me love you.

I won’t believe that our dreams are foolish,
you’re the reason why
my day dreams aren’t dreamless.

So I’ll close my eyes now,
and sink further into this abyss,
and even if I drown instead,
I’ll flail my arms and scream your name,

You will save me.

I believe you,
that you love me!
So even if I drown instead,
I’ll flail my arms and scream your name.
Now I feel,
your arms around me…

I’ll break the surface with you, whom holds my heart.

copyright Marie Meyers, 2016

Have something you want to say?

