The Pain You Taught Me

You never would.
That is what you told me.
What good are butterflies if they disappear?

I never knew that Love 
had an ugly head to rear.
I heard it was volatile,

But I
had never 
seen it.

your words cut me;
like razor blades across my skin.
they invaded me, and left me shaking;
a familiar sting across my cheek.

And Love, as the Serpent,
deceived me.

I never want to forget;
I’ll make myself remember,
every time I see

your face.

Copyright of Marie Meyers, 2014. All rights reserved.

Have something you want to say?

