If We Were Just

If you were just a boy
and I just a girl,
could we create something that’s promised?
If you were just a boy
and I just a girl,
could we make real fairy tale happy endings?

‘Cause like a ship out on the sea,
I’m sailing further into you.
Just like an in anchor in the blue,
I’m sinking deeper for you!
If you were just a boy
and I just a girl,
could this be more than simple staring?
Running with the wind,
our sweet whispers;
reaching their hands to pull us through
the heavy fog on the horizon,
hiding from us a quiet truth.

And like a ship out on the sea,
I’m sailing further.
Just like an anchor in the blue,
I’m sinking deeper.
Just like a castaway
under a tidal wave,
I’m slipping under,
I’m slipping under

The bright lights of a silly dream.
Swept away into a fantasy.
The third star, on the right,
I’ve followed straight ahead until morning.

If you were just a boy
and I just a girl,
could this be more than an empty promise?
If you were just a boy
and I just a girl,
could we venture to Never Never Land, together?

Because then never would tomorrow not be promised,
and never never would we not – last forever.
We’d be grains of sand at the
bottom of an hourglass,
and singing to chimes of a clock
with frozen hour hands

If you were just a boy.
If I were just a girl.
If you were just a boy.
If I were just a girl.

If we were just…
If we were just…
If we were just…
If we were just…
If we were just…
If we were just…

Then like a whisper on the wind,
my hands would seek to pull you through
and as a tiptoe in the dark,
my heart would beckon yours to come.
‘Cause like a ship out on the sea,
I’m sailing further into you;
and like an anchor in the blue,
I’m sinking deeper into you.
I’m just a castaway, underneath tidal waves,
underneath tidal waves, tidal waves.

And I know it’s a silly dream,
I know it’s a silly dream,
I know it’s a silly dream,
a silly dream.

Yeah, I know it’s a silly dream,
I know it’s a silly dream,
but I followed that star, on the right, all night…
so shouldn’t that count for something?

Copyright of Marie Meyers, 2014. All rights reserved.

Have something you want to say?

