Words You Couldn’t Say

“I’m sorry.

It isn’t what you think.

I just don’t know what to do anymore. I’ve forgotten how to breathe.

How to believe in you and those around me. I’ve been,

beaten and broken

by everyone who is supposed to love me.

I don’t want you to go, but
I know you’ll never really stay.”

“Don’t go.
Be there for me when I need you.
Like you said you would be, don’t take those words back, don’t lie to me.
Please.
I need.
Something more than this.
The back view of your frame as you slip out that door.”

“Turn back.
Save me.
Make it stop.
Make the pain go away.
God watches over all of us, but
only you can take my hand off the trigger.
Don’t leave me
lost.”

(C) Marie Meyers, 2013

Have something you want to say?

