Untitled (V. ?)

I ash these embers;
one after another.
Man, I just got this pack, too,
and I’ve been smoking it like I’m taking shots.

Speaking of shots,
that Brandy slid down quick;
tasted so sweet, I need me another drink.

Even though I know I shouldn’t;
but no matter where on the table I place it,
those Malboro menthols and plain shot glass are still within my reach.
Might as well just place them
in front of me
–it’s only 11:10 and it ain’t like I gotta sleep.

(C) Marie Meyers, 2013

Have something you want to say?

