Gimme Your Hand (First Edit)

Grip mine tightly.
Hold on with all that makes us…

us.
Suckers like me know what happens when one lets go, so I
won’t. I
can’t. Not
really.

Suckers like me know how it feels to have a withered heart because we waited,
so, so long,
to be Everything.
So I do it again, and I
beg–
no, I
plea–
down on both knees;

Suckers like me swear to never lose That One again.
In a world of millions of soul mates,
where any one may be Forever.
So I hope, and I
pray, and I
plea;
to chase after you,
and stop you.

Suckers like me know how it feels to realize when we love someone more.
So I may be a fool,
but I want,
no I need,
you to know I love you

most.

Don’t throw away our love and leave me
helpless.
Don’t let me go and leave me
staggering
to forget
I
need
you.

Don’t turn away
and leave
              me
                   spiraling
                                 down;
let me keep you from walking away.
Let me do it right this time.

The
brown topaz necklace you gave me I wear:
with its rusting glow and its green kiss on my
chest, to show you that I can adore you completely
and give you the love no one ever granted.

Just take my
                   hand,
whisper that I am
                       worth everything,
and that I am not the same
sucker
who begged the wrong one to stay.

Have something you want to say?

